Roll to Confirm


Species
February 4, 2014, 5:54 pm
Filed under: Campaign Brewing, Kingdom Far Away, RPG's, Star Wars

I’ll put force users on the shelf for now and move on to another vital thing about both Star Wars and RPG’s: Species. Of course in RPG’s the common term is races, but I think for a Star Wars game species feels more appropriate. It evokes a slightly more scientific bent and also I hope makes the world feel bigger. Unlike the generic fantasy campaigns I normally run, in the Kingdom Far, Far Away, each species will have it’s own distinct homeland. They will still mingle in cities but I really want locations to be distinct. I’ll admit in my games all dwarves tend to be from mountains, all elves tend to be from forests etc. This helps speed up play at the table but it also makes things more generic.

One of my goals for this project is to create a campaign that has a very low entry point. I’d like to be able to run it for people in my area, mostly students, who haven’t played tabletop games before and come from a video gaming background. Familiarity with Star Wars is assumed, but not necessarily with RPG’s. I want a player to be able to sit down at my table, roll a few dice, and have a playable character in minutes.

How does this work with all those species?

Well, I’m going to limit the initial species selection to humans. You can hail from Corellia, Coruscant or Alderaan and each of those origin kingdoms will come with their own benefits like stat improvements, skill selections or social abilites. When your party, or group, ventures to an alien kingdom, gains the services of an alien species or makes a particular contribution to a species, you “unlock” that species as a character creation option.

I hope this will both simplify the game as well as open up more incentive for engagement with my world.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This system reminds me slightly of SWTOR where completing the leveling with a certain race class combo can open up new options for new race class combos. Its addictive and fun in SWTOR and drives me to unlock those cool creations that drive my imagination to come up with new origin stories etc. As an entry to this world I think it makes sense and, as you point out, drives players to interact with your world. I would suggest some form of entry that doesn’t force players to start over, but that gets into whatever experience system you have built which I know nothing about at this time. However it’s set up, I would just suggest that keeping players roughly together in terms of potential just makes it more enjoyable all around… So don’t penalize the guy who really wants to play a wookie and hide in the roof of the tavern/cantina (depending on the term usage in a star wars medieval setting).

Comment by librarylegend




Leave a Reply

